Heavy dinner and deep conversations

(Disclaimer: I wrote this post before the coronavirus situation happened. Since then I have been staying indoors, maintaining social distancing guidelines and restrictions.)

One of the best things about living in Berlin is the plethora of food choices. Apart from the traditional fast-food options such as the currywurst, schnitzel, kartoffelpuffer (potato pancake), pretzels and strudel, there are a ton of options for international cuisines as well!

As soon as we moved to Berlin, my husband and I set out on a mission to sample as many different dishes and cuisines as we could, but our favourite so far is this cute little Lebanese hole in the wall restaurant that serves (in our opinion) the best kafta and shwarma!

My favourite item on the menu is a Kafta teller (kofta plate) which is a ginormous plate of rice, koftas, salad, hummus and pita bread. Some times, when we’re feeling ambitious, we order a combo platter with falafel as well.

Whenever we’ve made plans to go there for dinner, I usually skip lunch so that I can devour this massive plate of deliciousness (which is usually around once a week)!

The other day, I noticed a curious thing. Whenever my husband and I go there for a meal, we always end up having really deep conversations. We end up talking about politics, religion, society and culture, life and death, and the future of the human race!

One would assume that our focus would be the food and hence the conversation, if any, would be light-hearted banter.

But, nope.

I have no idea how or why these conversations even begin, but before you know it, there we are with a plate full of half eaten kafta or shwarma in front of us, forks raised in the air, arguing about what is most likely to bring on the extinction of the human race.

We eat there at least once a week, so that’s at least once a week’s worth of deep conversation.

We finish our meal with plates scraped clean, tummies full, and minds and mouths exhausted. The walk back to the train station is usually quiet and slow.

Heavy dinners and deep conversation.

Now there’s a combo I never would have anticipated!

Leave a comment