Escape for a moment

Sometimes
The world gets too loud
It overwhelms me
Like a dark damp cloud

It envelops me
With doubt and despair
And I begin to wonder
Is there hope out there?

There’s so much noise
And chatter and doubt
I wish I could throw
The whole world out!

Oh wait! I can!
I can shut the door
I can turn off the noise
And sit peacefully on the floor

I take a deep breath
And everything’s calm
It’s quiet and peaceful
No cause for alarm

No deadlines knocking at my door
No meetings to rush to
No problems to be sorted out 
Nor ten thousand things to do

No, there’s nothing here
Except me and my mind
In the calm ocean of emptiness
I’ve left the craziness behind

I’m in my happy place
My mind is free as a bird
The tension is gone, I smile
I’m ready to get back to the crazy world!

Leave a Reply

