Forever

It was an icy winter day.

 

“Will you love me forever?” I asked.

 

He blinked.

 

And in that moment I saw,

Hesitation in his eyes.

 

“Of course!” He replied.

 

And I knew, he wouldn’t.

 


 

Winter turned to summer, and another winter went by

The seasons changed and so did I

Lovers changed, and the meaning of love did too

And one beautiful autumn day it was time to ask you

 

“Will you love me forever?” I asked.

 

You blinked.

 

And in that moment I saw,

Hesitation in your eyes.

 

“I don’t know about forever”, you replied.

 

My heart sank.

 

“But I do promise to love you everyday”, you continued

“I will make you coffee every morning
And help you as you work towards your dreams
But in return I want you to promise me
That you will never settle for less than you are capable of.

If that takes forever, well, then I’ll be there with you, forever.”

 

And I knew that you would.

 

I had found The One.

 

Leave a Reply

