Becoming a morning person

I’ve never been much of a morning person. Getting out of bed before 9 a.m. has always been a serious struggle. In spite of the fact that I grew up in household where people would start waking up at 5 a.m. to enjoy a cup of tea before facing the day, somehow the habit never grew on me. 

However, lately I have begun to realise the importance of a daily routine (and exercise). And therefore, I have decided to go for a walk every morning! 🙂 

When I walk around my society complex downstairs, I usually have my earphones plugged in and listen to my favourite songs. I also tend to observe people. The guards at the gate, young people jogging or stretching in the park, older people walking. I smile and say good morning. Makes me feel good. I love talking to older people. 

Today there was some activity going on in the park. Tents were being set up, probably for some party tonight. A lady was giving instructions from her first floor balcony to the caterers carrying in the food supplies. I enjoyed being a part of the activity – a silent spectator, walking, minding my own business, but seeing people live a fraction of their lives in front of me. I was also doing the same. 

I’ve begun enjoying these morning walks. It’s lovely to see people up and about, people leaving for work in their cars, the grocery shop and beauty parlour downstairs starting to open, the milk truck arriving. And of course I love the greenery. We have 3 lawns in our society and the flowers are blooming – its springtime. Every corner I turn I see greenery with different shades of red, yellow, orange, white, purple and pink. It’s beautiful! 

I’d say that it’s worth trying to be a morning person. There’s something about mornings that makes me feel hopeful, happy and alive.

Leave a Reply

